Navigate Up
Sign In

MidCentral DHB Election Results

  • Twitter
  • Facbook
  • YouTube

Progress election results for the MidCentral DHB Board election were announced by the DHB’s Electoral Officer, Dr John Annabell, at 8pm this evening.  Seven candidates are required to be elected.

The results include all voting papers except those still in transit and special votes. 

The outcome of this election may change once all voting papers have been counted.
The table set out below shows the names of the candidates in the order they have been elected, or in the reverse order they have been excluded.
PROGRESS Results as at 8pm, Saturday 8th October 2016
​Candidate Status* ​Iteration of Voting Calculator
Naylor, Karen ​elected ​9
​Manoharan, Nadarajah ​elected ​8
​Broad, Adrian elected ​9
​Anderson, Diane ​elected ​17
​Robson, Barbara ​elected ​16
​Findlay, Lew ​elected ​20
​Feyen, Michael ​elected ​22
​Burnell, Lindsay ​excluded ​22
​Wards, Sharon ​excluded ​16
​Chapman, Ann ​excluded ​14
​Dennison, Vaughan ​excluded ​8
​Gimblett, Neville ​excluded ​7
Waldon, John ​excluded ​6
​McCann, Duncan ​excluded ​5
​Podd, Anne ​excluded ​4
​Weth, John ​excluded ​3
​Brannigan, Maree ​excluded ​2
​Egan, Martin ​excluded ​1
*The computer software used to calculate election results means that candidates with enough support to be elected do not keep more votes that they need to be elected.  Rather, the excess votes they receive are redistributed, in order of voter preference, so as to help elect other candidates.  At the other end of the scale, where no candidate has sufficient support to achieve the quota and there are still vacancies to fill, the least popular candidate is removed from the count and, again, their votes are used to assist other candidates in being elected.  This is done on the basis that it is impossible for that candidate to be elected, even if all the remaining votes were transferred to them.

For the election of MidCentral’s Board to date, 22  iterations of the voting cycle took place.

The preliminary results will be announced by Dr Annabell tomorrow, Sunday 9th October.  At that stage, all voting papers other than all special votes will have been counted. 

In addition to the seven elected members, the Board of MidCentral DHB comprises a further four positions.  These positions are filled by people appointed by the Minister of Health.  These appointments are expected to be made prior to the new Board taking office on 5 December 2016.
Between now and 5 December, the current Board will continue in office.

Please use this form to tell us what you think of our services.

Send a message to a patient at a MidCentral Health facility.

General information about Palmerston North Hospital.